T. Roy Adams Humanitarian of the Year Award

Default Interior Banner

T. Roy Adams was an eminent Niagaran, well known throughout the Region, Canada, and abroad for his service to God, his country and his fellow citizens.
In 2003, in memory of the late Councillor T. Roy Adams, Niagara Region initiated a memorial award in his name to honour residents of Niagara who best exemplifies Roy's values and dedication to community service; a person who sees volunteerism as an integral part of their life.
Eligibility Guidelines
- a current resident of Niagara
- evidence that the spirit of volunteerism and community service plays an integral part of the individual's life
- a person whose community service has involved the citizens of Niagara
Nomination Process
A nominee for the T. Roy Adams Humanitarian Award may be sponsored by:
- an organization, or
- two individuals - a sponsor and one co-sponsor not related to the nominee
The nomination must include the following information:
- the completed nomination form
- a detailed description, approximately two pages in length, that highlights the nominee's lifetime of community service and volunteerism (see Evaluation Matrix for criteria)
- an explanation as to why the sponsors feel the nominee deserves to be recognized with this aware
- in addition, letters of support may be included.
Nominees will remain eligible for three (3) years. For applications made for this year, the three (3) runners up will automatically be forwarded to the next two (2) years. Active politicians and active regional staff are not eligible. Candidates will not be considered posthumously.
Selection Process
A Committee comprised of Regional Councillors, Regional Staff and one member of the community will review the nominations and select the recipient.
The aware will be presented at the Regional Council meeting in July. The recipients name will also be engraved on the commemorative plaque which is displayed in the lobby of the Regional Headquarters Building.
Nomination Form
The form can be submitted by e-mail to charlotte.powell@niagararegion.ca, online at www.niagararegion.ca or mailed to: Regional Clerk, Niagara Region, 1815 Sir Isaac Brock Way, Thorold, ON L2V 4T7.
The deadline for submitted nominations is March 31, 2020.
For more information, please contact Charlotte Powell at 905-685-4225 ext. 3221.

Contact Us

© 2018 The Corporation of the City of Thorold, 3540 Schmon Parkway, PO Box 1044, Thorold ON, L2V 4A7

Hours of Operation: 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday to Friday

Back to top